Quickfire Challenge Results

Last month I posted asking for snack ideas that were ideally baby friendly and able to be eaten without the use of utensils.  I’ve tried some of the suggestions and have had some success.

Snack #1:  Popcorn
A few of you suggested popcorn, so I’ve been making popcorn from scratch, on the stove.  It’s kind of a lot of work, but about six months ago I started to be really grossed out by the idea of microwave popcorn, and once I started to be grossed out, I started to think that it tasted funny when it had tasted perfectly fine before.  So here I am, working my arm muscles, slaving over popcorn on the stove.  I put about 3 tablespoons of canola, peanut, or olive oil in a stock pot that’s now become solely the popcorn pot, and heat it.  Once the oil is hot enough, I add 3/4-1 cup of corn kernels, cover the pot and shake it.  After the popcorn has popped, I sprinkle it with salt or whatever else.  I’ve done salt and pepper, as well as cinnamon sugar.  This recipe yields anywhere from 10 to 20 cups of popcorn, and a cup, plain, is about 1 point.
For a twist on traditional popcorn, I tried Maple-Chile Popcorn.  I made this recipe several times in order to work out the kinks.  I’m still working out the kinks.  The first time I made it, it was awesome, then obscenely spicy, then awesome again.  The next time, I tried it without the red pepper.  My husband and I devoured it almost immediately.  My kid’s too young for popcorn, so his opinion isn’t represented.  If I remember correctly, a 1/2 cup serving is 3 points

Snack #2:  Apples mixed with peanut butter and honey
Apple suggested this snack.  Oh, yum, is all I can say.  I am drooling right now just thinking about it.  Oh, yum.  I ate this snack as breakfast one morning after my bike ride to class.  I cut up a Granny Smith apple, threw some lemon juice on it so it wouldn’t turn brown, and put it in a gladware.  I took a smaller gladware and mixed the honey and peanut butter together.  The snack was too sweet for me to eat the entire thing in one sitting, but it was a great way to boost my energy throughout the morning.  I’m not sure what the best raito of peanut butter to honey is.  I’m still working that.  My thought is 2:1, peanut butter:honey.

That’s all I’ve got for now.  I know, not much for a month’s worth of time!

7 responses to “Quickfire Challenge Results

  1. I like apples with pb too…and although I agree about the microwave popcorn being a bit off, you’ve now got me drooling for the real thing…mmm!

  2. I’m glad that helped you out! I mix some granola snack in with my PB and honey to give the extra kick and crunch. I haven’t found just the right ratio yet either, but I’ve never been good with measuring things. I just add stuff in till it looks about right.

  3. I am the queen popcorn snob… and I am here to suggest that you may want to look into pure coconut oil… is good for you and holds it’s integrity in higher heats (no trans fats). Olive oil is a good one (try fresh rosemary and garlic salt with it), but so many other oils go rancid so fast… you often purchase them off the shelves half rancid. That will affect the flavor MUCHLY!

    Mmmmm popcorn!

  4. We have a Stir Crazy popcorn popper and it is probably everyone’s favorite appliance these days. In fact, it’s sitting on the counter right now; the girls and I having just inhaled a huge bowl of popcorn in about four minutes flat.

    And in case anyone’s wondering, they’re available at Target.

  5. do air poppers even exist anymore? I would think that would be a healthier way(and TONS easier) to cook it than in oil over the stove.

    I could exist solely on popcorn, (but only the air popped kind) the only problem is that I like butter and salt, and lots of it! So that doesn’t really work 😛

  6. My mom-who lives with us-has banned any new kitchen appliances, including popcorn poppers. It appears there are several air poppers on Amazon.
    http://www.amazon.com/s?ie=UTF8&tag=mozilla-20&index=blended&link%5Fcode=qs&field-keywords=air%20poppers&sourceid=Mozilla-search

Leave a comment