I’d like to introduce myself…

By Miranda

Hello, everyone! My name is Miranda and I am fluffy. I have been reading this blog for a few months and have finally gotten up the courage to post. I don’t think I have ever openly shared my weight with anyone- not even when I was skinnier- but I think it’s finally time.

I have always been considered overweight by normal standards. When I was 17, I joined the Army with my parents permission. I was a junior in high school and went to basic training in the summer between my junior and senior year. When I joined, I was weighed. I weighed right around 160 and was roughly a size 10/12 (if my memory serves me correctly). I was overweight so they had to ‘tape’ me- essentially take my BMI or body fat measurement or whatever they called it. I passed that with flying colors, so obviously I was more muscular than fat. 8 weeks of hell and torture later, I left basic training weighing 156 pounds, but ultimately a size smaller.

Flash forward 1 year. I had just graduated high school, completed my medical training for the Army and decided to go active duty. I had gained a little bit of weight back and was again at a size 10/12. Then in February of ’99 I got pregnant. I gained a whopping 70 pounds during my pregnancy. 230 pounds and only 20 of those came off right away! “No problem,” I thought. “I’ll lose the weight running every morning and doing the required PT (physical training).” Not so easy to do when you are carrying an extra 50 pounds! Then, within the next year I was (honorably) discharged from the Army, going through a divorce and moving back to AZ. With all that going on, I had finally dropped below 200 to hit 190.

Over the next 4 years, I continued to gain until May (?) of ’05 when I reached 255. My mom, sisters and I joined LA Weight Loss. Over the course of 4 or 5 months, I lost 20 pounds, which brought me down to 235. I underwent a surgery and job change and then continued, once again, to gain until I was 275. I began to stop having menstrual cycles and I knew that my body wasn’t liking what I was doing, so I decided it was finally time to make a change. I joined Curves in April of ’07 and began to eat healthier. The next month, I got engaged and had even more incentive to lose weight. I lost a total of 30 pounds by November or December. Things got really hectic in January and February with the wedding (and another job change!) so I stopped working out, but continued to try to eat healthier. I have pretty much maintained since then, so here I sit at a lovely 248 pounds.

It’s funny because I used to think that 160 was fat. Now I look at myself and think that I was crazy to think that. I know that with my genes (doubly cursed I tell you!) and body type I am not meant to be 130 or even 160 pounds again. I have decided that I will settle for right around 190. Heck, I’d even be happy with 200 knowing that I will have lost 75 pounds. My new incentive is that my hubby and I didn’t get to take a honeymoon, so for our first anniversary we are planning a Mexican Riviera Cruise in February. That and my 10 year renunion is coming up in October. Realistically, I’d like to lose 20 pounds by October and another 20-25 by February. Let’s see if I can do it!

8 responses to “I’d like to introduce myself…

  1. hey – welcome!

  2. woot-woot! Welcome girlie!

    You can totally do this.

  3. You can totally do this! We will be here holding your hand the whole way (figuratively speaking). This is a great place to turn when it gets a little ruff, or when you did really well and need to share your success.

  4. Hello Sis! Just saw this on Google reader and perked up at “Miranda” and wondered if it was my loverly sister. I knew it was you on the first sentence.

    U can do it! We can do it!

  5. Welcome! So happy you’ve joined us.

    Good luck with reaching your goals!

  6. WElcome aboard, Miranda!

  7. You can do it Miranda, and it’s nice to meet you!

  8. I have an ohhhh so similar story! I joined the Army in 98, weighing 130 at 5’2″, thinking I was heavy and of course getting taped because I was over 3 pounds of Army Standards. I passed and by the time I came out of Basic and Job training I was at 145! Muscle? Who knows but eventually I got shipped to Germany.. ended up going to 180 after a knee injury. Lost the weight back to 140 and got pregnant… back up to 175 then went through a bad breakup with my daughter’s father and turned to be a workout-a-holic… went down to 130.. met my husband and had another baby.. here I am again at 173! Ugh… I used to think 130 was bad… now 173 and I’m reallyyyyy bad..

Leave a Reply

