Good news and the beginning of good news maybe

Excitingly written by Apple Joos

As mentioned in the Fluffbuster’s Week 3 comments, I gained weight this past week. At first, I was pretty upset and I had to really struggle not to go on a binge. The typical “Why even bother” thoughts crept up and it would have felt so good to give in, but I chose not to. After leveling out a bit, emotionally, I was able to look in the mirror without seeing big blobs of fat. I was able to really just look at myself honestly and it was then that I realized that I may have gained weight according to the scale, but according to my body shape, I was still slimming down. Again, I don’t feel like I have done the exercise that would cause me to build up several pounds of muscle mass, but I don’t know how else to explain it. It doesn’t seem to be water weight.

So, just to see if I’m right that my body hasn’t changed shape, I went to Target today and tried on a pair of size 11 jeans. They fit snugly with a slight bit of muffin top, but they fit. So, despite seeing the numbers on the scale go up, I’m definitely going down in inches. I weighed in at 154.4 today, which is down 1.2 pounds from Saturday morning so all I can do is hope this trend continues till next Saturday and then some!

As for this week’s salad challenge, I started off today with some chik’n salad made with a vegetarian chicken substitute, mayo (though not the lo-fat kind, I wanted to polish off the last of the jar of regular) onions, bacon bits (which are really bacon flavored soy) and spicy brown mustard. In total, it came up to roughly 700 calories, which fit well within my calories allotted for dinner. I still even have enough for a snack later!

How about you? What kind of salads have you been having so far? What have you got planned later in the week?

Apple Joos

7 responses to “Good news and the beginning of good news maybe

  1. Jen on the Edge

    Congrats! You’re going to feel so great in those new jeans.

    No salads for me today, as I’m coming off a yucky stomach bug and food is not my friend at this point. On the plus side, I couldn’t have possibly have gained any weight today!

  2. Hey, I had chicken salad yesterday too! Go us!

  3. i had fruit salad way to hot here to even think about food. good job getting into the siz 11 jeans.

  4. Congrats, fitting into new jeans is awesome!

  5. There are lots of reasons for weight fluctuation. Exercise can cause your muscles to hold on to water, for example. An interesting read here: http://primusweb.com/fitnesspartner/library/weight/scale.htm

    The important thing is you can see that you are slimming down. Congrats!

  6. I really try not to let the scale dictate how I feel (hard to do) if I feel good then I don’t care.

    Also, there are off the scale successes…too…so I think you are doing great and keep up the good work!

  7. I found some lettuce wraps at costco… LOVE THEM. Just 150 calories for three of them. Way to hang in there, by the way!

Leave a Reply

