Facing reality

By Jen

Last November, I faced reality and began attempting to lose weight for the first time in my life, even though I’d been overweight for a decade.  I joined Weight Watchers and helped start this blog.  I lost 20 pounds in two months — not bad considering it was the height of the holiday season.  I broke a lot of bad food habits and recommitted myself to exercise.

By January I was bored with WW and, in February, decided to quit WW and see if I could lose weight on my own.  The result?  I have lost and regained the same five pounds for three months and have made no progress toward my overall weight loss goals.  Some of my bad eating habits have come back, including mindless snacking and not getting enough fruits and veggies.  Luckily, I get a lot of exercise, so I didn’t get completely off track in the past three months.

On my birthday a couple of weeks ago, I announced here that I want to be fit by 40, which means losing a minimum of 40 pounds by my 40th birthday next May.

Yesterday, I ate half a batch of rice krispy treats.

Today, I rejoined Weight Watchers.

Clearly, I’m not ready to go out on my own without the help of WW.  I need to be forced to track my food, as I’m pretty sure my snacking is the source of my troubles.

I’m going to succeed.  I’m going to lose my next set of ten pounds.  Then I’m going to lose the next ten pounds.  And so forth.  I’m going to be fit by 40.

8 responses to “Facing reality

  1. Hey, you know I can relate! We will hang in there together, working to get this right. Maybe WW really is a key factor in this thing.

  2. Pingback: I’ve been a busy blogger « Jen on the Edge

  3. I definitely think that tracking what you eat is key – whether you do it through ww or not. I know that you can get that scale moving backwards again!

  4. Can I have the other half of the Rice Krispie treats? 😀

    I track my eating on fitday.com, but I’m looking into WW because, I suck at losing weight.

  5. I second the comment about tracking being a key. It can be a bit of an eye opener when you journal everything that you eat and that includes the samples at places like Costco!!

    Over the years I’ve tried heaps of diets. The only one that I’ve been able to stick at and successfully lose weight, is WW.

    My main problem, is that once my weight loss becomes obvious and people start complimenting me, I sabotage myself and it all goes back on again.

    I am absoloutly determined that it will not happen this time!!

  6. I agree, I have to have something to keep track of my eating too. I’m a grazer, and it’s such a bad habit! Good luck with WW – sometimes it helps to have a break from something.

  7. yes, tracking and being accountable at weigh in has made me quite successful with the weight watchers program.

    BEST OF LUCK!

  8. Pingback: Good and bad at the Tarzhay « Jen on the Edge

Leave a Reply

