Can I Whine and Be Mad a Minute?!

I’m coming here because I know you will make me feel better. I’m trying all my self talk too.

I was feeling pretty good about my efforts.

A. I have been successful in sticking to a walking routine for four weeks, and I have a partner who will continue to walk with me and help me push my limits. I’m feeling stronger and happy about how I’m trying to change.

B. I haven’t been able to stick to a diet, but I am trying to make better choices and trying to wean myself off of the foods I crave and turn to for comfort (one of the reasons I’m writing now instead of eating).

C. I was gradually losing, was up to sixteen pounds gone. I was (am) really looking forward to continuing the trend of losing.

However, over one weekend I shot up 7.8 pounds!!!!!! This morning I was ready to throw my hands up, throw in the towel and agree with the negative side of me that says “It is so not worth the effort, you will just gain it all back anyway”.

Okay, I’m PMS-ing, I had chinese food this weekend, I haven’t been drinking water like I should.

Whew! I’m starting to feel better. I am going to take on the challenge of drinking more water. I’m going to keep walking. I’m going to make progressively better choices with my food intake. I am going to work my butt off (hopefully) to make biggest loser this week.

Thanks for letting me vent. You all are the greatest!

13 responses to “Can I Whine and Be Mad a Minute?!

  1. It’s totally water weight. Just channel a fish and start drinking!!

    Chinese is definitely my downfall too 😦

  2. it’s okay. It happens to all of us. I know I get frustrated when I don’t pull big numbers. Or even a whole one…. Seriously, what’s up with only losing 0.6 pounds?!?!

    phew. sorry about that, I got a bit sidetracked. But yes, drink your water and you’ll feel better.

  3. I weighed myself this morning to learn that I had gained over the weekend. *sigh* I hear ya, sister.

  4. This happens. It’s okay. Don’t give up, because next week will be much better.

  5. I honestly hate HATE HATE the scale I think it should have never been invented. I was listening to the radio the other day on my way home from the gym and they said that there is a study and if I can find it ill share it. But it said that women think about there weight 2 to 3 times more a day then men think about sex. I was thrown for a loop. WOW really that is alot but that same day I watched myself and I thought about it 30 times in ONE day. Crazy! So along with drinking more water this week I am not going to weigh myself until Friday. So I am so sorry losing weight is a job and it takes alot of hard work. Just keep up the good work and heck if your pmsing have some chocolate you deserve it.

  6. Don’t give up Toni – if the scale can shoot up 7.8lbs in a week, it can go back down that fast too. There are a lot of reasons why the numbers on the scale can go crazy (water weight, time of month, time of day, the sick sense of humour of some higher being) so just concentrate on continuing to make the best choices you can, and don’t beat yourself up over the inevitable little set-backs. And don’t give up on yourself, ’cause you can so totally do this, and you are so totally worth it!

  7. Oh! It’s the Chinese food! Seriously… it’s a spike of sodium that is causing you to retain like no other.

    I know this because I experienced this one week a la WW! I stayed within my points, exercised, was a good girl in all ways and STILL shot up four pounds one week due to eating out Chinese and then the leftovers for two days right before weigh-in. The next week I weighed in seven pounds lighter. Is water, the end.

  8. i feel your pain on this. its like we have to work twice as hard as the normal person to lose weight, and yet its twice as easy to gain it. *hugs* Although I’m gonna go with Badness & bon with the Chinese food theory….

  9. Thanks gals! I love ya!

  10. I’m in the same boat! I too gained over the weekend. What a bummer!

  11. Not to worry, if the weight comes on fast it comes off fast. It’s the weight that has been on for a long time that is the hardest to loose.

    Keep up the good work 16lbs is a lot and everyone deserves a cheat weekend every once in a while.

  12. It’s the sodium, Toni. Remember recently when I posted on my blog about my weight gain after chinese food? Start drinking that water, it will come off. Don’t stray too far from the vicinity of the loo, though, at least for the next couple of days. 🙂

    Congratulations on the 16lbs, that is awesome!!

  13. Toni, is that you? I popped over here from your blog. I want to fight the fluffy too. Great job on the 16 pounds!

Leave a Reply

