Good, yet bad also?

I know you’re not supposed to weigh yourself daily because weight fluctuates so much from day to day, but I do. I weigh myself every morning before I get dressed because I actually like to keep track of the fluctuations so I can evaluate what I’ve eaten that made my weight raise or dip. The only reason I bring this up is that for the past few days, I’ve lost a pound every day. I know I should be happy, but I’m a little worried. Isn’t that a lot for someone who isn’t even really exercising? I’m careful to watch what I eat, but I haven’t cut calories thatdrastically! At this rate, I’ll be losing 7 pounds a week, which again, sounds great, but I’m not doing anything that really equates losing that much weight in such a short amount of time. Should I just quit with the worry and be happy that pounds are falling off without much effort or should I be on the phone to my doctor? I’ve never lost weight like this before and aside from being exhausted from a lack of quality sleep the past week, I feel fine. Rapid, unexplained weight loss is just something a lot of horrible illnesses have as a warning flag.  

Also, I have noticed a few ladies are starting the Couch to 5k program. I have a question for you and anyone else that might have started and not said anything: Did you download any of the song programs they had posted on that website? There were a couple of options, including one that was strictly music, no talking and one that was all Christian music. Both are set up so that the music tells you when to switch from walking to running so that you don’t have to watch your watch. Has anyone tried that yet or even listened? How did it work for you? Was it something that helped you?

Apple

5 responses to “Good, yet bad also?

  1. do you have any other worrying symptoms? or just the weight loss?

    If you do, doctor time, if you don’t, man, i want your metabolism!!

    Lucky duck (i hope?)

  2. I don’t think that daily weighing is a bad thing – everyone should do what works for them. If you google it, you’ll find lots of articles saying that daily weighing can help with weight loss efforts.

    As to the losses you are seeing, I wouldn’t panic yet. It’s true that weight can fluctuate quite a bit from day to day. I would just keep an eye on it. If you find that it doesn’t level out over the next week or so, then I would be concerned.

  3. A body can carry an EASY eight pounds of water weight (I know MINE CAN) So there is maybe half of what you’ve dumped off?

    I’m thinking that you will start to even out pretty quick, and that if you WERE exercising hard core, you wouldn’t be seeing huge drops like this. (sore muscles retain water plus muscle increase weighs more yada yada yada). If I were you, I’d take it and grin a lot while I went!

  4. It could just be water weight. Keep an eye on things and, if you’re worried, call your doctor.

  5. If you’ve just started dieting it could very well be water weight.

    If it continues past another week or so, then perhaps mention it to your Dr.

    Are you having any other symptoms, other than the weight loss?

Leave a Reply

