In which I blabber about nothing….

By Sarah:

So I started at the gym today on a trial membership. I was super nervous but my boyfriend walked me through it; he did his “pre-game” workout (he plays ball hockey in the summer) which is just five minutes of cardio and a quick weight session. Perfection.

Although, holy geez, do I ever need “work out” clothes. The pants I’m currently wearing have no elastic in the waist anymore, so they’re constantly falling down to around my hip level. Um, not cool? major annoyance? would be putting it mildly.

*ahem* but back to the subject matter – I did 5 minutes on a sit-down bike, then 6 different weight machines targeting, respectively, inner thighs, outer thighs, shoulders, back, triceps and chest press, just one or two rep(s) of 10, and then three quick laps of walking around the indoor track. The back/shoulders ones I did 100pounds, but most of them were 60-80. I was proud of myself, just a little; especially when the bf said he expected me to do less – I just love proving people wrong, especially boys. I’m *ahem* competitive that way.

I also had a look at the programs offered, and circled the ones I’m interested in. It’s quite varied (and punishing) – Monday: MaxMix (dance/cardio session) in the morning and then workout with K at night, Tuesday:lap swimming, Wednesday:AquaFit in the morning and Yoga Fusion at night, Thursday:lap swimming, Friday:AquaFit in the morning and workout with K at night, Saturday:workout with K and then Sunday:MaxMix 75. And then I think I shall crawl into a deep dark hole and die.

I’m curious to know – what does your workout schedule look like?

(oh, ps; weighed myself at the gym tonight, I’m back up to 284 *gag*. Can this be changed for FluffBusters?)

10 responses to “In which I blabber about nothing….

  1. Great job! Doesn’t it feel great to be moving toward a healthier you?

    As for me, I walk — A LOT. At least two miles every day and often more. Today, for example, I walked the children the half mile to school, then completed a two-mile loop. Later in the afternoon, I walked to school to pick the children up; I took a longer route and added another 1.5 miles to my daily tally.

    Beyond that, I don’t have any other workouts. I tend to be active whenever I can — taking the stairs instead of elevators, parking the car in one location and then walking to several errands, etc. I want to take up biking and also resume swimming, which I did a few years ago.

  2. I walk a couple miles a day, slowly working up to more. I have an elastic band that I use for a resistance work out instead of weights. I was a little doubtful at first because it wasn’t “weights”, but the next morning my muscles are still sore, weights or not.

  3. Hi there, I am a lurker but appreciate the encouragement from this site. I am about your weight class and I could NEVER keep the schedule you have set for yourself. I am doing a class at my gym that is three times a week and they want us to do two more workouts a week, for a total of six. Don’t wear yourself out the first week. Do something you can commit to for the long term. Maybe three times a week at the gym and then walking with friends?

  4. Good Job. I love going to the gym. I feel like if I don’t go my day doesn’t go as well. I hope you don’t over do it. Just remember to have fun..

  5. Kim – Since my trial membership is only for a week, I’d like to experience everything I can for that week so I know what I like and don’t like. I’ll probably drop a few things as I go along. Also, I need variety in my workouts or else I’m going to get discouraged and bored. One thing is for sure though, I’ve committed to working out three times a week with the bf, and other things are just going to have to work around that. As for walking, does going back and forth across a park searching for a ball because my puppy doesn’t quite get “fetch” 100% of the time count? (I also take public transit, so I get in alot of walking that way)

    Thanks for the encouragement guys! 🙂

  6. Yes, I was just going to say don’t overdo it, but if it’s only for a week, you gotta test the waters. 😉

    playing both sides of fetch totally counts.

  7. Every little bit counts. Taking stairs, parking at the far end of the lot, dancing to the music in your head while you fold the laundry…or maybe that’s just me, lol!

    I hate the gym, so my workouts these days mostly made up of walking the dog and chasing the kids around the house and the park. I try to move as much as I can throughout my day…it’s working, and I know that I won’t give it up!

  8. Right about now, my workout schedule looks like a whoopie cushion. It’s sad. This will (hopefully) change when my hubby gets home though. Until then, I’m pretty much just left grabbing motion where I can. I went for two short walks with my youngest daughter this afternoon but other than that, I’ve been stagnant. : (

  9. I have an exercise bike that I moved right in front of my tv. It prevents me from sitting comfortably in front of the tv and watching any show. (I moved one section of my sectional out.) I need to figure out a way to prevent myself from sitting at the computer without working out – then I’d be on to something. That’s about where I’m at with exercise right now, and I’m gardening. As far as diet is concerned, I’m just doing portion control and not a lot else. I don’t snack much or eat many sweets. And I really don’t want to try another fad diet – I want to do this the old-fashioned way. Which means it’ll take some doing dang-it.

  10. I’ve started that fun run/walk routine that Apple posted about. Before that I was just walking on an incline for an hour a night. I need to get to the gym and start some weights soon!

    Sounds like your work out routine is vigorous. Keep it up, you’re doing so well!

Leave a Reply

