Race for the Cure

Anyone who reads my personal blog knows “07″ wasn’t very kind to our family. If I could I would erase it from history and pretend the whole year just didn’t happen. Since that is not possible we are just moving on and making the most of a new year.

Among many horrible events of “07″ there is one that sticks out the most. For the first time in my life I got an up close look at cancer and what an ugly horrible disease cancer is. I very unexpectedly lost my biological father to cancer. This came just weeks after my mother-in-law found out she had breast cancer.

Loosing my dad was a huge shock, I didn’t even know he was sick. I just got a phone call one day that he had died. I missed the chance to say goodbye, and maybe resolve old issues.

The loss of my dad also made my mother-in-laws cancer uncomfortably real. I don’t deal well with things I can’t fix so I threw myself into caring for her the best way I knew how. I cooked, I cleaned, I ran errands, I took her to her appointments, and I prayed a lot.

I watched as cancer took everything from her, first her hair and slowly it robbed her of her ability to even get out of bed. Through it all she was a tower of strength and dignity. She was worried about how her kids and grand kids would react to her bald head. It didn’t bother us any, and she slowly started going without a wig more and more. We laughed and joked with her about the situation and she helped get all of us through it. My hubby even suggested she dress up like Uncle Fester from the Adams Family for Halloween.

After 9 long months she beat it. She worked really hard at getting her strength back, and is now in London with my father in law on a church mission. I’m sure she would say that all she went through was worth it to be where she is now. We are truly blessed to still have her with us, and to have her healthy enough to serve the way she is.

This year in honor of my wonderful mother-in-law and all the other brave women battling this ugly disease our family will be running in the Susan G. Komen breast cancer race in Salt Lake city. The race will be on May 10th at the Gateway mall. If you want to join the fun you can register here online.

I am in no way ready to run a 5k, yes I am that out of shape. I am setting my standards very low. My goal is to finish the race. I think that one I can manage. I will be running with my sister-in-law, my 13 year old daughter, and many friends who are joining the cause. I hope to never have to deal with cancer again although I know this is very unlikely.

10 responses to “Race for the Cure

  1. Monica, I understand what you’re going through, as my father has terminal cancer and watching a loved one die by degrees is intensely painful. I’m so sorry you didn’t get a chance to come to terms with your father’s illness before he died, but I am SO GLAD your MIL is kicking cancer in the tush! And YAY YOU for doing the Race for the Cure!

  2. Monica, I’m so proud of you for making some positives. You can definitely do it!

  3. Penance?
    Shaking a fist at Life?
    What else can I do but live?

    Whatever the reason, I applaud and cheer loudly from the side of the cyber-road.

    ADG

  4. Good for you for doing something about it. I’ve never known anyone personally fighting cancer, but I can definitely cheer you on!

  5. Virtual high-five!

    I’m a lurker who is de-lurking and I wish you the best.

    I have lived through a lot of cancer in my life. It’s not pretty and I applaud your desire to show-up and do something hard.

  6. Good for you Monica!

  7. marissametcalf

    That’s awesome. 🙂 I’m participating in the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer 3-Day in November in Arizona. 60 miles in three days…. can we say ouch…. LOL Here’s the link to my personal page for the event, in case anyone may feel the urge to donate or participate! I need to get $2,200 raised by then, so every little bit helps.

    http://08.the3day.org/site/TR/Walk/ArizonaEvent?px=1898869&pg=personal&fr_id=1180

    I wish you the best on the race chica, you’re doing an awesome thing for yourself and for others, and it’s people like yourself that make this world a better place to live in. 😀

  8. You guys are all too sweet!

  9. Good for you Monica.

Leave a Reply

