Ready to Run (well, not literally)

This is my first post on FtF even though I’ve been a link on the sidebar (under the name Sarah) for months now. Basically I thought when I joined the site that I was ready to make the dedicated effort to losing weight (and, uh, I’ve got alot to lose) but then some crazy stuff happened, like, oh, losing my housing and trying to go to college while living out of a grocery sack. So, the whole weight loss regime got derailed before it even really started.

But now that the crunch time of school is over and I’m used to living out of a grocery sack, I’m ready again to put “the plan” back in action. I think.

This isn’t the first time I’ve tried to lose weight. I’ve been trying to lose it for what seems like my entire life – I’m only 21 and have been fighting this battle since age 8. I finally “got skinny” in Grade 7, but the following year went away to boarding school 2 provinces over and didn’t have the best of times (that’s putting it mildly). The weight came piling back on, and then some. And I’ve never quite lost it. I was working on it by being involved in competitive swimming and living with the “Diet Nazi” (aka my mother, but my issues with her are another post entirely) but left home at 17 and fell on some really hard times. At 19 I picked myself up and went to college, but I gained another 40 or so pounds due to this lifestyle change. I like to say I gained a few peoples “Freshman 15”, you know, took some for the team.

Anyway! thats the weight history so far. I’ve tried Herbal Magic, Weight Watchers, good sense, not-so-good-sense, extreme poverty, hard drugs….but now, I have a three-pronged attack plan in place, and I can’t WAIT to get started.

PRONG 1 – EXERCISE
Join a gym. Specifically, my boyfriends gym, so I always have someone to go with. Mom agreed to pay for 3-new member personal training sessions, which I’m grateful for, because I don’t know what the heck I’m doing. Go 3-4 times a week (I would go every day, but I have class from 9am-9:30pm two days a week). The thing I’m most excited about is starting swimming again.

PRONG 2 – DIET
Join Weight Watchers online, listen to my body to say when it’s full/hungry, employ “good sense” eating habits. Mom again offered to pay half the membership (she sure does want me skinny). The other two I’ve been slowly implementing over the past month. Its a really strange feeling to stop before you’re so stuffed it hurts!

PRONG 3 – SUPPORT & REASONABLE GOALS
i) support – Blog here. Pretty self explanatory, no? And having that built in support of a boyfriend who goes to the gym regularly and is making some lifestyle changes himself helps alot; I’m not going to lie.

ii) reasonable goals – before I would look at the big picture and get discouraged. I have 121 or more pounds to lose, which is a whole other person. No wonder I got discouraged when I thought of that number! But now I’ve broken it down to managable chunks. My first goal is to lose around 50 pounds by Christmas. That’s 7 months to lose 50 pounds. Much better to think of it that way!

Anyway, uh, so that’s me. Thanks for listening to that – I can’t wait for the BL:Ftf Edition to start! đŸ™‚

8 responses to “Ready to Run (well, not literally)

  1. Welcome! I’m so glad you’ve posted.

    Your plans are so reasonable and I’m sure you’ll succeed!

  2. Sounds like you’ve covered every possible angle! Make sure you take advantage of any and all support, most importantly from yourself. Try and listen to your body as best you can. đŸ™‚ Best of luck, and I look forward to hearing more!

  3. Yes, small chunks is the way to go. (Literally and figuratively. LOL)

    And don’t stress about that big number. There’s a few of us that have over 100 pounds to lose.

  4. Good luck, girl – we’re here for you!

  5. I’m so glad you’re here! And your plan sounds great!

  6. Sarah, I’m glad you are here. My issues also started around age 8. I, too, have another person to lose. So you aren’t alone in your quest.

  7. my best advise is to think of small goals like losing 10 lbs instead of thinking of the TOTAL loss you want to achieve. When you meet each goal make another and before you know it…you will be closer and closer!

    Have faith in yourself, you can do it~

  8. Story of my life! You can do it! thanks for being an inspiration!

Leave a Reply

