Losing weight on a diet of cheese and chocolate

By Jen

I’m back from a ten day trip to England and I can report that, in spite of eating far too much excellent cheese and delicious chocolate, I lost 1.5 pounds while I was gone.  Believe me, I was fully expecting to get on the scales this morning and discover that I’d gained weight, not lose it.  I reflected on this during my walk this morning and believe I can attribute my weight loss to the following:

  • First of all, what I’ve learned from Weight Watchers and from reading this blog is that portion control is critical.  I ate whatever I wanted when we went out, but I didn’t stuff myself.  This was particularly helpful during our last dinner in the country, when I ordered roast beef and Yorkshire pudding.
  • Second, I got in a nice walk almost every day of the trip.  In London in particular, we easily logged 2-3 miles each day.  Even on the last day, when we walked a kajillion steps in the halls of Heathrow.  I fully count that as exercise, because my heart rate was definitely elevated.
  • Third, I made a point to eat fruits and veggies every day.  We visited several nice markets and stocked up on supplies, including apples, grapes, and bananas.
  • Fourth, I avoided the infamous English breakfast of eggs, sausage, and ham most days.  In fact, I did it only once and decided that granola with fruit was an excellent day to start my day.
  • Finally, I made a point to drink lots of water.  We had refillable water bottles with us and I usually had one with me at all times.

I wasn’t perfect on our trip.  I ate chocolate every day and more than once every day.  We also consumed a lot of excellent cheese.  In fact, many days, we would have cheese, bread, apples, and chocolate as our lunch.

So I’m pleased that I have not come home heavier than when I left and I’m excited about continuing this trend.  I’m about to go to the grocery store and stock up on good foods, including lots of vegetables and fruits.  I do also have an assortment of British chocolates in my pantry, but I’m not actually feeling inclined to eat them.  Yet.

8 responses to “Losing weight on a diet of cheese and chocolate

  1. Pingback: Losing weight on a diet of chocolate, plus I hate fast food. « Jen on the Edge

  2. That is AMAZING! I hope to report equally good results after my upcoming weekend away…:)

    Heidi

  3. Jen, WOW! I love that you got to eat what you wanted, and really have the whole experience of the country, but you were able to do it in moderation. Because that’s really what the whole thing comes down to, right?
    Yea for you!

  4. All that willpower…

  5. Wow that is AWESOME!!

    I’ll eat your chocolate for you. That way you don’t have to worry about it 😉

  6. I’m beginning to think London is a magical vacation place….=P
    Good thing it’s such a walkable city!

  7. GREAT JOB!! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

