Grrrrr…

By Jen

Consider the following:

  • I exercise every day — walking 2-4 miles at a brisk pace
  • I drink lots of water
  • I exercise strict portion control
  • I’ve cut way back on treats and snacking — trying to reserve my daily teeny tiny chocolate fix to after dinner

Sounds like the winning combination, right?  Then someone please tell me how I managed to gain seven pounds in one week?  Water weight?

7 responses to “Grrrrr…

  1. No. Fair!

    Broken scale. Only possible explanation.

  2. What? maybe you’re pregnant. ha-ha-ha-ha-ha-ha!

    (unless you are. then my attempt at humor can be chucked out the window!)

  3. The exact same thing happened to me. Muscle weighs more than fat, so my scale kept going up. It was really hard to watch, and after 10lbs I couldn’t watch anymore, and stopped weighing myself.

    After awhile it turned around.

    My trainer told me that 2 years ago she weighed 155lbs (we are short so that is more than it sounds) and was a size 12. Now she weighs 155lbs and is a size 6. She put on muscle and took off the fat.

    Here’s hoping that muscle is the answer.

  4. Oh. I’ll buy the muscle answer. I weigh WAY over 10 pounds more than I did before having babies, yet I am wearing the same size.

    Muscle… and some water weight.

  5. And that’s saying more than you might realize, because my abs are completely blown and my gut hangs out… so to be in the same size?…

  6. Grrr….I’d check that your scale is working, but also it could be partly a hormonal fluctuation. Sometimes it sucks to be a girl! Try to watch your salt intake this week, and see if it goes back down.

  7. Hi

    just dropping by

    The exact same thing has happened to me, I weighed myself this week and I have put on 5kg in 3 weeks. I don’t understand 😦

    But I’d check in another 3 weeks again…

Leave a Reply

