Your Happy Weight

I have been MIA for a while due to a few crazy and stressful weeks. Weeks that led to amazing amounts of stress eating, but hopefully I can jump right back on the dieting wagon.

I am so close to my goal weight, but still so far away. As I get closer I have started to wonder if the number I picked out of thin air is the right number for me.

A friend of mine wrote a blog post about your “happpy weight“, and linked to this calculator to help find your happy weight. I added up mine, and found that the number I chose is only one number less than my happy weight.

So now that I know were I want to be, I’m closer than I thought. Only 8 more pounds to go!

What is your happy weight, and is it what you thought it would be?

8 responses to “Your Happy Weight

  1. I read that article in Self – according to their calculator, my ‘happy’ weight is 5 pounds higher than the number I set as my goal. I’m halfway there, so I’ll re-evaluate as I get closer.

    Yay you on getting so close, stress eating happens to all of us, don’t beat yourself up for it, just brush it off and keep going – you can do it!

  2. My “HW” is a whopping ten pounds higher than what I’d had in mind. I suspect that the “add five pounds if you were once a smoker” doesn’t really count if it has been over a decade since you’ve had a ciggie.

    If so, it is still five higher than I thought… perhaps is right, perhaps. I’ll make the determination when I get within twenty pounds of the mark.

  3. Wow, that’s really interesting. My happy weight is 130, which is near the upper end of what’s considered healthy for a 5′ 3′ woman (111-131). I was shooting for about five pounds less than that, but I’m going to readjust my numbers.

  4. Everyone that I have talked to who has tried this calculator has found that they didn’t need to be as skinny as they thought. Kind of interesting, I think it shows that sometimes we have unrealistic expectations for ourselves.

  5. Pingback: Moving, Not Fun! | Monica Buckles

  6. My happy weight is 130 pounds, which is a good 15 pounds higher than what I had in mind….hmmm…

  7. I have never heard of this before – thanks for sharing! My happy weight is about 10 pounds lighter than what I am now. That seems doable, although I have to say, I’ve maintained this weight for the last three weeks. The good side: no gain. I’m trying to look at it that way. My point was – sorry! – thanks for telling us about this.

  8. Funny you should say that, Monica, because my happy weight is one I know I’ll never ever reach, nor do I even really want to – either 117 (for a medium frame) or 122 (for a large frame – I didn’t have anything to measure my wrist).

    That’s just too skinny for me to think about. I think I’ll stick to the weight I feel comfortable achieving – 140-150.

Leave a Reply

