Post Valentine’s check in

By Jen

How did everyone do yesterday?   Did you indulge a little, a lot, or not at all?

I had a rough day (difficulties with a relative), but did not stress-eat, as I would have just a few months ago.  Instead, I went for a second walk in the afternoon — to pick up my children from school — and that really helped my mood.  My husband gave me a yummy chocolate-y treat and I did eat more than I might have on other days, but not as much as I would have just a few months ago.  And I stayed out of the Girl Scout cookies, which were delivered earlier this week.  So I’m fine with how I did.

This weekend, I’m planning to go on two long walks.  My husband and I are going to dinner and a show on Saturday, so I plan to go for a longer walk on Saturday morning in anticipation of all that Italian food that night.

How’s everyone else doing?

4 responses to “Post Valentine’s check in

  1. Is my middle daughter’s birthday as well, so there was ladybug birthday cake to contend with, as well as Gramma Dukes amazing pink frosted sugar cookies that she always sends us for Valentines Day.

    One slice of cake
    Two cookies
    Two dark chocolate hearts (1 point each)

    I went over my daily, but is survivable. Now if I can just hold it together for the four days we are spending at a condo down south! At least the focus is going to be on swimming and other outdoor activities! I am really relishing my new role as “the mom who runs and plays with the kids.”

  2. Bon: Yay you! I can’t wait to hear about the swimming and playing afterward.

  3. I stayed up late on Wednesday night and made special heart-shaped double chocolate cookies for my husband and kids for Valentine’s. They smelled so good, and I was really proud of myself because I didn’t have any, I didn’t even taste the batter. I promised myself that I could have one for dessert after dinner on Valentine’s Day. And then – I woke up yesterday with a complete and all-encompassing sinus cold. I can’t smell or taste anything. There was no point eating one. Damn. Maybe if I’m down a lot on my weigh-in on Monday I’ll be glad.

  4. oh – speaking of chocolate – the Princess’s school is planning to send home a case of 30 family-size bars for us to sell next week. I’m all for school spirit, but she’s 4, there’s no way it would be her selling it, and I don’t want it in the house. Can I just refuse to take it? I’m happy to donate my money and time to other things, and there have been LOTS already, but not this. Does that make me a bad parent?

Leave a Reply

