The Bad Place

I’m in the emotional bad place.  The Princess was invited to participate in a friend’s gymnastics class this morning from 11:00 – 12:00.  On the way home she asked if we could have lunch in a restaurant.  It was already after 12, I’ve got a bad head cold, it sounded good to me.  We went into Wendy’s, I figured that I could have a small chili and side salad, and the kids could have french fries and chocolate milk, which is basically all they ask from any dining establishment.  The line-up was moving exceptionally slow, and the Princess was hyper.  I had to ask her numerous times to get back in line, to stand up, to pick up her coat, to listen.  My arms were tired from carrying Bad, and the teenagers in front of us in line kept swearing.  I asked the Princess to come to me 3 times, so that I could see if she wanted to go somewhere else, but she wasn’t listening.  I grabbed her hand, and marched her out of the restaurant.

 Not surprisingly, she pitched a fit and I had to endure the stares of all the other patrons who undoubtedly thought I was mean and crazy.  I hate having to disappoint her, and make her cry, but I also don’t believe in rewarding bad behaviour.  (Normally she’s really well behaved in public, this is only the 2nd time in 4 1/2 years I’ve had to take her out of a restaurant)  She cried half the way home. 

Bad fell asleep in the car and I was able to transfer him to bed so that I could sit and have lunch with the Princess.  I made her oven fries and a grilled cheese and we talked about what had happened.  I’m still on edge though.  This is the kind of mood that would normally send me into a binge.  I keep telling myself that eating will not make me feel any better, it will only add self-hatred to the plethora of emotions already coursing through me.  Being at home all day with the kids, and dealing with them myself, sometimes feels like more than I can take.  I’m sometimes sure that no matter what decision I make, it’s the wrong one. 

7 responses to “The Bad Place

  1. Sounds to me like you did great! Some days the fast food is just not meant to be.

  2. Bleah…. on these kinds of days I like to just quit for a while and re-group. What works for me is to sit down and read a book to the kids, it’s when we are all at our best. Usually helps me to like THEM and MYSELF a little better.

    I betting though, that some of those stares had nods of approval that went with them, you were just too busy to catch that part.

  3. I could have written this…that’s exactly the sort of thing that sets off my binge eating too. In fact, my youngest won’t nap…I got three hours sleep last night, and I want to crash so badly. So what am I doing? Eating, of course.

    But I’m eating homemade whole wheat bread. I haven’t gotten past binge eating yet, but I have switched it up to healthier alternatives, and that feels good. Halfway there!

  4. I’m totally with you. Hang in there! I’ve got a stack of muffins downstairs that I accidentally made with oil instead of applesauce (I was on the phone!) and they’re delicious. Notice I’m nowhere near the kitchen now…find something to distract yourself, and get busy! Does Princess like to dance?

  5. I’m totally with you. Hang in there! I’ve got a stack of muffins downstairs that I accidentally made with oil instead of applesauce (I was on the phone!) and they’re delicious. Notice I’m nowhere near the kitchen now…find something to distract yourself, and get busy! Does Princess like to dance?

  6. You did a great job setting the limits and enforcing them. Not binge eating afterward is even better. Kudos!

  7. Way to go! You handled that well!
    I have a favorite line I like to use when strangers stare at my tantrum throwing child.
    I say “He takes after his father’s side of the family”
    Try it, they stop staring.

    Hang in there Badness, you’re doing a great job!
    Try to find some humor in the situation.

    (If that happened to me, I probably would have buckled the kids in their carseats and gone to the drive through to get myself a large frosty.)

Leave a Reply

