So far, so good

By Jen

Last week I mentioned here that I quit Weight Watchers and will instead use common sense as my weight loss plan. The verdict? So far, so good.

It felt odd the first couple of days not to track every morsel of food, my water intake, my exercise, and even if I had had my vitamins. But I’m adjusting and continuing to do what I need to be doing. I’m still eating well, not snacking mindlessly, and drinking lots of water. I haven’t dived face first into a vat of M&Ms, but that’s largely because we don’t have any in the house right now and not because I have tremendous willpower. Chocolate always has been and probably always will be my weakness, but I’m doing better about eating less. It also helps that lately I’ve been splurging on the good stuff and then indulging only in little bites every evening.

Another thing that is working well is my exercise. I am a walker and, not only do I walk my children the half-mile to school, I also go for fabulous treks through my neighborhood and around town nearly every day. It helps that I live in a beautiful area and there’s always something interesting to see — many of my neighbors are avid gardeners.  I also tend to walk as much as possible on my errands. For example, parking the car at the grocery store and then walking a couple of blocks to go to the post office and the bookstore, before coming back to the grocery store for my shopping.

All of this is adding up, or subtracting, as it were.  As of today, I have lost a little over 21 pounds, which means I am thisclose to hitting 25% of my overall goal of losing 90 pounds.  It feels good, even though I still have so much left to achieve.  But I’m getting there, one day at a time, one pound at a time.  Today I am wearing pants that haven’t fit in two years.  I’m celebrating the little things.

So that’s how things stand with me.  I’d love to hear from all of you and know how you’re doing this week.

9 responses to “So far, so good

  1. Great job! I am a little frustrated with my progress, but you have inspired me.

  2. That’s wonderful! Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. Way to go Jen!!
    WOW, 21 pounds? That’s fantastic!

  4. WOW! Good for you! You have almost lost the equivalent of my preschooler. Way to go.

    I seem to be on the slow trek down. The weight is coming off, it’s just taking it’s own sweet time.

  5. 21 pounds is amazing! YOu’ve almost lost the equivalent of Bad ! (I almost lost him today too, at the bookstore, lol!)

  6. That’s what I like to hear!

  7. Awesome! Seriously – find something that weights 21 pounds and pick it up. You will instantly appreciate just how much 21 pounds is! Do lift carefully. Twenty one pounds is enough to throw out anyone’s back.

  8. That is fabulous!!! So happy for you, although I never doubted you could do it 🙂

Leave a Reply

