Thinking for myself

By Jen

I cancelled my Weight Watchers subscription today. Not because I have hit my target weight — I have not and I still have a long way to go — but because I’m going to try doing this without thinking about points. I’m going to think about portion control. I’m going to eat good foods, not junk. I will make wise choices. I’m going to take my vitamins daily and drink lots of water.

For now, I am not going to track what I eat and how much. I’m just going to try to live normally and focus on good health.

Since I weigh myself daily, I’ll know soon enough if I’m slipping or if I’m making bad choices. If I see that I’m not toeing the line, then I’ll sign up for WW again. But I’m hopeful that I’ve made enough good habits and broken enough bad ones that I can do this with no problems.

11 responses to “Thinking for myself

  1. I hate thinking about food. Either I am thinking about what I CAN eat, or I am thinking about what I CAN’T eat. Makes me CRAZY!!!

    I would like to be a contributor. How do I sign up? Will you allow a man in this group? I have a lot to say about weight, exercise, and the issues involved in trying to reach a healthy balance.

    Let me know.

    Thanks,

  2. Yeah, Jen, you go girl!

    I am currently working up the courage to buy myself some scales. If I do, I will definitely be doing a daily weigh-in. It’s a good way to keeping yourself in line, I think!

    Heidi

  3. Good for you Jen!
    The more I think about what I eat, the more I want to eat.

  4. I’m doing great without weight watchers, but I am writing down everything I eat. Not measuring, or counting calories or points, but just jotting down what I’ve eaten to keep myself mindful and so I can look back at where I’ve done well, and where I’ve gone wrong. Oh – and I’m taking the money I’m not spending at weight watchers, and putting it away in special place every week to spend on cute new clothes when I do hit my target.

    Go Jen! You’re gonna keep doing awesome!

  5. I don’t want to start a “food fight”…lol…but have you thought about Nutrisystem ? I’ve been using them a month and I love it.

  6. I did the same thing. WW taught me some good concepts, but then I went off on my own, studied nutrtition, etc…learned loads…and realized that having to count doesn’t work for me. Filling my house with only good foods? That totally does. Good luck!

  7. I think you’ve made a smart choice. I lost 50 lbs last year by exercising portion control and, well, just exercising. No counting anything. I just tried to focus on making sure I got the nutrients I needed from healthful food choices.

    I also didn’t freak out too much about fat or carbs– if a tablespoon of salty butter enables me to munch a big pile of broccoli and thus get fiber, calcium and antioxidants, then I don’t worry about it too much. Same thing with a drizzle of maple syrup on my old-fashioned oatmeal in the mornings.

    Good luck! As long as you remember to take care of yourself, you’ll do great.

  8. Smart. Very smart. I have finally also come to terms with the idea that due to the medicines I take, I’ll likely ALWAYS be this size. But I’m still going to the gym, because I can at least be a HEALTHY fluffy.

  9. Good for you Jen. I know you have it in you to stay the course.

  10. You will do great!
    On WW I found myself always thinking about food; how many points, writing it down, how many points left, what I was going to eat the next day, what I wanted to eat with the extra points…I’ve found that I do much better not dwelling so much on the food, since that is kind of the root of the problem anyway!

  11. best of luck…you can do it, keep your head up and keep on keepin on!

Leave a Reply

