Bon Apetite

Last week I had gone up 4.4 pounds; there were many reasons for it, but it was still discouraging.  Tonight I went to my WW meeting to find that I had shed those pounds plus a few more, for a loss of 7 pounds.

So odd, but I’ll take it.

In response to Jen’s quest for good winter veggie ideas, here is an amazing recipe that I picked up from Sarah at Hope is Power… To make it a little more weight loss friendly, I have cut the olive oil to four teaspoons.  Also, I have no coriander OR caraway, so I cannot vouch for their flavor, but I love me some garlic salt instead.  I have tried it with dill weed, green curry powder, and fresh rosemary along with the garlic salt.  Makes for interesting variations on exquisite.  Be warned, you will become addicted.
Roasted Cauliflower, or Cauliflower Fries, or The Best Cauliflower You’ve Ever Tasted, Even If You Think You Hate Cauliflower
1 head cauliflower, cut into bite-sized pieces
3 T extra-virgin olive oil
1/2 t ground coriander
1/2 t ground caraway
3/4 t salt
pepper

Toss the cauliflower with the oil, then the spices and salt. Again, if you’re me, double the spices. Put the cauliflower on a baking sheet in one layer, and roast in a 425 degree oven for about 20 minutes. You should hear a lot of sizzling. Take it out and turn the cauliflower. It might look a little burned on the bottom, but that’s what you want. Return to the oven and roast another 10 minutes. It should be shriveled, blackened and crispy on the edges, and kind of juicy looking. Let it cool a little before you try it, and then prepare yourself for a new addiction. Keep the kids away, because they will eat it all. And beg for more, even fight over the remaining pieces.

10 responses to “Bon Apetite

  1. Congratulations! And thanks for the recipe – it sounds yummy! I don’t usually eat cauliflower because it’s so bland, but it’s just so darn good for you, you know?

  2. Nigella Lawson has this recipe in How to Eat with no oil, and ground cumin as the spice….also very yummy, but when I made it I found myself wishing I’d used just a little fat.

    And you rock!!! Yay you!!!

  3. I love cauliflower, so I am totally hyped about trying this! You say it’s good black and shriveled? I’m going to trust you on this one.

  4. I actually have some cauliflower in the fridge, so I’ll definitely give this a try. Thanks!

  5. Ok, I am going to trust you and try this. My kids are pretty good veggie eaters, but cauliflower is at the bottom of their list.
    Here’s hoping!

  6. CONGRATS ON THE LOSS…and that recipe sounds GREAT!

  7. OH MY GOODNESS! I made this for dinner tonight and it was fantastic! Bonmama was right- my kids could have eaten double what I made.
    I used only olive oil and garlic salt.
    Serious YUM.
    thanks BonMama!

  8. Ah! Another believer!

  9. I pretty much don’t eat vegetables, but I am trying. I think I’ll buy some cauliflower and give it a try.

  10. I made this for myself today…for a snack. Just 1/3 of the cauliflower, with one tsp olive oil and lots of ground cumin and ground coriander. Too yummy! I’m making it for Hubs and the kids for dinner tomorrow. Note to self: buy more cauliflower…

Leave a Reply

