Mmm….soup!

I had a very successful food experiment, so I’m sharing with you.  Last night I cooked broccoli for dinner, and was staring at the stalks, which I always feel bad about throwing out.  Instead, I made soup, and ate it for lunch today with my sister.  Very easy, very yummy, no fat.  What else could you want?

Bad’s Broccoli Soup

2 broccoli stalks, peeled and chopped

1 clove garlic, peeled and crushed with flat side of a knife

1 potato

2 cups water

1 vegetable stock cube (I used Aurora brand)

pepper, to taste

Throw broccoli, garlic, water and stock cube in a pot.  Simmer until broccoli is tender.  (I had a leftover baked potato in the fridge, and added that later, but if you don’t, just peel and chop your potato now and cook it with the broccoli.)  Put it all into blender, (add your potato now, if you haven’t already) and whirr until it’s your desired consistency.  Re-heat gently before eating.

I stirred a dollop of plain yogurt into mine before eating, and my sister sprinkled on some grated cheddar.  I served it with fresh bread, and because we have no manners, we ate it without butter and just dipped it in the soup.  So good.

3 responses to “Mmm….soup!

  1. Woo! I’ma gonna have to try that one!

  2. Sounds Yummy! I love hot soup in the winter.

  3. One of my skinnier times was when I was a missionary. I would cook a big pot of vegetable soup and eat off of it for lunch and dinner every day. It was cheap, healthy, low-cal. Hmmm, I should try it again! Thanks for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

