Pedometers

Posted by Toni

 

I have been hearing a lot about pedometers and this 10,000 steps to lose weight thing. I have a girlfriend who religiously gets in her 10,000 steps every day. So I decided it would be a good thing to keep track of how active I am (or how active I’m not) so that I can make the needed changes.

I read somewhere that you don’t have to buy the expensive pedometers, that even a $5 pedometer will work great. So I was at Wal-Mart and bought me a really pretty royal blue pedometer. I figure if it’s in a color I like, I won’t hate it and I will look forward to clipping it onto my pants every day. When I look to see how many steps I’ve taken, I will see that pretty royal blue and I will feel good about having to throw another 7,000 steps into my day because my pedometer looks so good. And to top it off, it only cost me $4.99. Hey, I can afford that!

So the next morning I clipped it onto my pants. Before the morning was over, I had a whopping 3,000 steps racked up. Wow! Getting 10,000 steps wasn’t going to be as tough as I thought. Cool! I just jumped from a level 1 activity level to a level 3. I’m not in as bad of shape as I originally thought. Well, that day I made my 10,000 steps, and then some. But I hadn’t exercised. I kind of started to become suspicious.

Yesterday we were planning guests for dinner. Now, I live in a manufactured home that is 80 feet long. So in cleaning and doing laundry and chasing my 2-year-old, I do run from end to end a lot. Plus yesterday I was up early running errands around Home Depot, Wal-Mart, Sam’s Club, all of which are big stores. I was busy from 5:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m when our guests left. By the end of the day I had logged in 20,000 steps. GIVE ME A BREAK! If I was logging in 20,000 steps on all my busy days, I think I would look anorexic! My husband tried to get me out of bed this morning and I said “Hey, cut me some slack! I took 20,000 steps yesterday.” Who cares if I registered 20 steps every time I wrestled with my pants in the bathroom.

So my question is this: Does anyone know of a more reliable pedometer? Should I drop the whole pedometer idea and just do 30-60 minutes of aerobic exercise every day and weight training every other? Have you had success with pedometers? What kind do you suggest I buy? Is it in pretty royal blue? I hope you have a success story and will share it with me.

5 responses to “Pedometers

  1. I have tried soooo many pedometers and the cheap ones just don’t work right. Either they log too many or miss 10 steps for every 50.

    I highly recommend the Omron brand. I’ve been really impressed with their accuracy. I was shocked my first time using one. My average a few years ago? 1800. I was so mortified. I knew I wasn’t active but…oi! Of course, I had a newborn baby at the time, but still! A few months ago I averaged 7000 on a normal day, 13000 on a busy one.

    My battery died though and I haven’t got around to replacing it. Thanks for the reminder!

    My battery just died though. Ugh.

  2. Second the Omron recommendation. I got my pedometer from Kaiser (in California) a couple of years ago, and I LOVED it. It even had an adjustment in case it was too sensitive (based on how you were wearing it).

    I think I paid about $20 for it, but it was totally worth it.

    The pedometer broke, and I bought one from Weight Watchers, and it sucked. I hate my Weight Watchers pedometer. Don’t buy it at WW. It was a big waste of money.

  3. I’m so afraid to get a pedometer. I am so sedentary it would probably be something like 500 steps. That’s exactly why I SHOULD get one. Thanks for the tips.

  4. I agree about the inaccuracies….I had a cheapie one that made me look like a marathon runner.

    Good idea on getting in 10,000 steps!

  5. huh… I just got a $10 Target special. Are you saying I might not want to even take it out of it’s box?

Leave a Reply

