Run

Just a week or so back, I was running and cogitating on the fact that I was running.  And it really seems to me that running is something I should not be able to do.  I am thirty eight years old, and have been diagnosed with arthritis in both knees and both ankles.  My tailbone is virtually immobile; “frozen” is the term my chiropractor used (a real party during pregnancy).  I currently weigh in at about 250, but I actually started running when I was still 275ish.  I should not be able to run, and yet, there I am at least three mornings a week, clocking in 40 to 45 minutes of sustained running.  Sure I’m slow as dirt… but there is no question; I’m running.  And I have a secret… after the first twelve minutes or so, it feels GOOD.  I don’t run longer yet because I am careful about injury, but I feel like I could go for another hour.

So I was thinking that the human body must be designed to run, else I couldn’t be doing it.  Turns out, I’m not the only one who thinks so, and there are some interesting facts and theories to be had!  I’d like to introduce you to my old HS bud, her name is The Dread Pirate Rackham and she has a great blog about her athletic journey in the world of triathlons.

Read this… she will have you considering running, or at least give you some interesting facts to wow your friends with at parties.  And if you are inspired to run?  Don’t forget Rackham’s Rules of Running!

Sound like something you might want to do?  Check out Hope Is Power, she has a series of posts on beginning running.
Beginning Running 1
Beginning Running 2
Beginning Running 3
Beginning Running 4
Bonus Tip

My point in this post is:don’t discount running just because you are heavy.  I did work up to it by walking and pushing a stroller for about an hour, four days a week for a few months.  I did get a physical before jumping into it (it helps to have a doc who runs).  I did invest in good shoes. I do mix it up with weight training twice a week (cardio is not the cure-all for weight loss).  But in September I was 290 and as sedentary as a mom of three young kids can be, and that’s surprisingly sedentary.  Change can happen.   There is every possibility that you could run too.  No joke.  Think about it, I am probably heavier than you are right now, and yet, I run.

But mostly, I just want to say… YOU ARE NOT DEAD!  You can get up and MOVE!  It doesn’t matter if running is not your bag, do whatever IS your bag, and do it just for today.

8 responses to “Run

  1. You are my hero. Seriously. I am so in awe of you and what you’ve accomplished. I’m going to add some running into my power walk tomorrow.

  2. I’m totally inspired by your running. And wow, you’ve lost 40 pounds! You’re a rock star. And I love Sarah K at HIP. LOVE her. I’m gonna check out the pirate link…

    But I just – hate running. I hate it. Maybe I’ll change my tune at this point, but for now, (just like you said “do whatever IS your bag”) I’m gonna stick to exercise I enjoy, so that I know I’ll do it.

  3. Wow! I am SO impressed. I don’t like running, well maybe not so much the running as the bouncing of my various body parts as I run. Not pretty.
    I do walk on the treadmill. I struggle with the first 22-25 minutes, then after that I fell like I could go another hour. (The first 25 are hard though)
    Good for you on your weight loss, You are AWESOME!
    Jill/jillybeans

  4. I always enjoy your posts! They are really motivating. By the way, I LOVE the new picture!

  5. That’s amazing…I used to run, and am trying to get back into it. Getting out of the house is the biggest hurdle, because once you get started it feels good….and the way I feel after? Wow.

  6. Oh Bon! I’m so glad you’re running and liking it. I always try to explain to people how the first few (sometimes 20) minutes suck, and how it gets better when you’re in the groove, but most people gasp and say they would never run that long in the first place. It gets better, and better. I’m so proud of you!

  7. Yay, Bon!
    Don’t know if you’ve ever checked out DoctorMama, who writes about running a fair amount.
    The first section of her latest post has a good reminder about running speed: http://doctormama.blogspot.com/2007/12/under-wire.html
    The language in the comments is a bit on the blunt side but nonetheless encouraging for those who might be wondering if they’re too overweight to run — sounds like there are other of women out there whose experience dovetails with yours.

  8. Okay, I hate, hate, hate running. Maybe it’s because I always brought in the rear in PE, maybe because I get this emotional closing off of the airways when I run, maybe it’s because parts of my body slap together when I run. I don’t know why, but I hate it. However, give me my ellipticle machine and some good music and I can go for two hours. My schedule won’t allow two hours, but I believe I could dance away two hours. However, after I lose 100 pounds (I wouldn’t dare try it at what I weigh now) I will try to get over running mentally, and then maybe I will learn to enjoy running.

Leave a Reply

