Hey, Maybe I can do this!

So I’ve been carrying around my contract to commit to Bob Greene for a week.  There are three phases to Bob’s plan.  I finally had the courage today to read what phase one entails.  I meant to read it before January 1, the big change day.  It’s January 3 and I finally made myself crack open the book and read phase one.  I think I can do this.

 This is what is required for phase one:  Eat three meals a day plus one snack (no reduced calorie or change in diet yet), stay hydrated, increase physical activity, take a multi-vitamin and stop eating two hours before bedtime. 

Bob suggests weighing at the start, and then don’t weigh again for four weeks (Not weighing and not eating two hours before bed will be the biggest challenges with this phase).  This is a four week commitment.

 I think I will print off 28 contracts.  Every day I will sign a contract.  I will get through this one day at a time.  I think I can do phase one for four weeks.

6 responses to “Hey, Maybe I can do this!

  1. Your plan makes a lot of sense. Good luck!

  2. Yup! You CAN do this… and it adds upon itself. Success begets further success.

  3. I’ve done the not eating before bed thing multiple times. Nothing, not one single thing, makes as big a difference as that does. It usually takes me a week to get used to it. I liked how Oprah put it, that you get that gnawing feeling in your tummy and you can either feed it, or let it feed on your fat. Puts it in perspective, eh?

  4. Oh, gosh, not weighing would make me nuts. I mean, it’s SUCH a good idea, makes so much sense, but ayeeeeeeee, I’m not sure I could do it. Is Bob Greene the same one that’s on the Biggest Loser? I know I read a book he wrote about ten years ago with Oprah, but I’m still not sure if he’s the same guy…

  5. Sign a contract a day? That is a great idea! You can totally do this and at the end of my second year we will dazzle each other!

  6. You’re brilliant! The idea of multiple contracts is just brilliant.

Leave a Reply

