I’m still here….

I know I’ve sucked at posting here and I’m sorry about that.  We all know how the holiday season can be crazy!  I’m just popping in to share some good news.

Mr. Smoochiefrog has had a target on his back for his job.  He’s military and with this recent move he’s gotten into an assignment where they actually care about the health of the troops.  In November, they gave him 40 days to have enough change to pass his P.T. test.  He needed to lose either 30 some odd pounds or 3 inches, as well as max out his sit-ups, push-ups and do a 3 mile run in under 14 minutes.  Well last Tuesday was the day and HE PASSED!!!!!!!!  He ended up losing the 3 inches, losing 10 pounds, maxing out his sit-ups, 39 out of 40 push-ups and completed the 3 miles run in 13:05.  Now mind you he could barely move the rest of the week, but he passed!  He’s been meeting with a nutritionist every 2 weeks, and she’s been helping him with meals and stuff.  She gave him a great formula based on height and weight to figure out how many calories should be consumed for no change, 1 pound a week loss and 2 pounds a week loss.  He’s been following that pretty regularly, as well as 5 days a week exercise, and he’s looking great.  So much so that I’ve adopted the system.

I agreed to take part in this site before Thanksgiving.  Honestly, I don’t know what I was thinking.  I was ready, but not ready at the same time.  My birthday was what did me in.  I woke up on my 35th birthday weighing 231 pounds.  At that moment, I decided I was done-really done.  I set my mind forth on the 7th and have been doing well since then.  Based on the formula, without exercising at all I could consume 1422 calories to lose 2 pounds a week and 1922 calories to lose 1 pound a week.  For the first week, I pretty much fell in between those 2 numbers and ended up losing 1.5lbs by Wednesday.  I was okay with that.  I went to the community center gym on Friday and Saturday and will be going the rest of this week as well.  I weigh in on Wednesdays, and since last week I’ve lost another 3.5 pounds.  I’m down 5 overall which I’m totally excited about.  Since I started exercising too, I’m upped my calories based on the formula.  Now I get 1595 calories to lose 2 pounds a week and 2095 calories to lose 1 pound a week.  I’m trying to stay between the two numbers to average 1.5 pounds a week.  Trouble is that if I only average 1.5 per week, I won’t meet my goal.

I’ve set up both short and long term goals for myself.  My short term goal is 10% of my starting weight, which would be 23.1 pounds.  When I hit that goal, you’ll all know b/c I’ll be shouting from the rooftops.  I’d like to hit that goal by Valentine’s Day.  My long term goal is to lose 100 pounds by my next birthday, December 6th.  At 2 pounds a week, it’s possible.  Now before you panic and think “100 pounds will put her at 131.  Is that healthy for her?”  Yup, it is.  I’m only 5’4″, so my goal weight is right in the middle of a healthy weight for my height.  Trust me, I’ve weighed less and been sickly looking so I think this is just fine.

The best thing about following the calorie plan from the nutritionist is that I’m not giving up what I love to eat.  In fact, I had homemade cookies yesterday!  It’s all about moderation and portion control.  Now some people really can’t do a little because they’ll lose control and eat the entire box.  If you can control yourself, there’s nothing you can’t eat-IN MODERATION!!!!  If I have the calories available, I’ll eat 1/2 C of ice cream after dinner.  If not, I’ll get a 25 calorie ice pop and call it a day.  Funny thing is I’ve lost a lot of interest in late night snacking since I’m watching my calories so well.  Must be a mental thing.

I’ve started a new blog just for my personal journey.  I’ll probably move it to Typepad with my other blog soon, but for now it can be found here.  If anyone wants that formula, email me and I’ll send it to you.  It’s an Excel document, so make sure you have that first!

Have a great rest of the week! 

7 responses to “I’m still here….

  1. CONGRATS on your early successes! They’re like early Christmas presents for you. I’m excited about all that you’ve accomplished and the way you’ve set your goals. Good luck!

  2. That’s wonderful Tina! It’s such a relief to find what works for you, as an individual. Congrats!

  3. Hooray for you! I have discovered that I can do things in moderation only to a point. I have to mix up my treats or else I start eating more and more of one thing. It IS such a mental thing!

  4. This is really inspirational and wonderful!! YAY for you.

    I suck at doing things in moderation. Anything. It’s something that I have to teach myself because I deprive myself of sweets and then eat TONS. I would love to have the formula and will email you.

  5. Congrats and welcome back. I’m glad you have found something that is working for you.

    I’m really no good at the whole “moderation” thing. I just don’t have any self control.

    Keep up the good work.

  6. Wow, it sounds like you will be able to do this. Try not to worry about the exact dates to lose by too much. You don’t want to make it be something you can’t reach. 1 pound a week is good. Maybe throw in an extra 30 min on the treadmill to get to that 1.5.
    Good Luck!

  7. Welcome back and thanks for the link to a new blog to check out. I love finding a new blog! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

