Real food, not fake

Written by Jen:

There’s a blurb (I really hate to call it an actual article, as it’s so short) on Yahoo News today about cutting the calories in traditional holiday dishes, such as using margarine instead of butter or Splenda instead of sugar.

I have an even better idea.  Instead of putting fake crap in our foods, what if we all agree to enjoy real foods, but in reduced portions?

For example, every Christmas Eve, my husband makes a Buche de Noel (the Christmas log).  Forget about those heavy dried out cakes you might see at the grocery store.  I’m talking about a melt-in-your-mouth sponge cake that’s frosted in chocolate mousse, with meringue “mushrooms” and even a little powdered sugar “snow” sprinkled on.  The primary ingredients are eggs, flour, sugar, chocolate, and whipping cream.  Substituting egg beaters for eggs, Splenda for sugar, and plastic-y brown stuff for chocolate would utterly ruin the recipe.  This is hands-down my favorite food of Christmas.  Will I be enjoying it this year?  Yes, most emphatically so.  However, I will be enjoying small slivers, not huge hunks.

So here’s my challenge to you all: Bake your families’ favorites.  Enjoy the holiday and the foods that go with it.  Just don’t overindulge too much.

9 responses to “Real food, not fake

  1. Great call, Jen! I know that if I try to “fake” it – it just feels like I didn’t really get whatever the treat was, and then I go back and eat more.
    Probably a couple of bites of the “real” food would be way way less calories, than a whole pan of the “fake”!

  2. I totally agree with what you said!
    I stopped using margerine years ago, becaust it’s really not that great for you either. Something about all that partially hydrogenated stuff. Besides, food made with real butter tastes better, and satifies my food cravings.
    Smaller portions are definately the answer.
    Jill

  3. Every day for the past three weeks I have eaten two balls of the most exquisite homemade coconut cram almond candy. This business is LOADED with sugar, sweetened condensed milk and all the oogy. The balls are small, and knowing that I can have two more tomorrow helps me to space them.

    i am with YOU sistah!

  4. I totally agree. For me, the actual baking of the treats is a part of the holidays. So I decided that every time I make a batch of something-er-other I’ll eat a few, then give the rest away. My neighbors may be putting on pounds from my baking – but I won’t!

  5. I love the line, “Eat food that remembers where it came from!” For me, it’s about cutting out the processed stuff. No cookies that I don’t bake myself, etc…it really help!

  6. Can I get an “Amen”?

    I have heard that all the lower fat “filler” stuff just makes you crave sugar more so you might as well have the good stuff.

  7. AMEN! Real food is so much more satisfying.

  8. YES! Absolutely. Real butter is one of the best things on earth. I’d far rather have a few bites of real, luscious flavor than a slab of something that’s not going to satisfy the craving AND leave me just as hungry – plus irritated – later, to add insult to injury.

    I love this post.

  9. So, how was the Buche?

Leave a Reply

