Pacing Myself

Another Tuesday, another weigh in, and I gotta tell ya, my body has it’s own pace.  That pace is as follows;

“wait for it… wait for it…. BOOOYAH!”

Translation: I plateau for at least a week and then slough a load of weight.  My body thinks it’s funny, and I’m always game for a good joke.  Especially when it means that while I weighed in at .2 lbs heavier last WI, the scale today showed a 4.4 lb drop.  This is with both weeks being pretty comparable in points and workouts.  Yeah… I’ll take that.

When I first started Weight Watchers in September, I had just started walking several times a week.  The combination of beginners WW loss, plus that increased movement had me dropping about two and a half pounds a week.  I knew that the losing wouldn’t keep up that pace, but I was careful so’s to maximize my losses without setting myself up to fail.  By this, I mean I ate every point and drank every ounce of water.  As a matter of fact, I also eat at least half of my weekly points (if not ALL) as well;  I like my food, and hate feeling deprived.

Now I have stepped up my walking/running to three times a week, with two intensive workouts with my friend, the Fitness Nazi.  Then on Saturday is my treat; I go for a longer run .  All.  By.  Myself.

Just me and the iPod, and baby?  It’s bliss.

Before you get any ideas about me being all tough, I gotta be honest, the above mentioned?  That’s the plan, but it’s not necessarily what happens.  Three little kids, Kindergarten, Preschool, and two separate  Nurseries at church… we get sick a lot.  And the Saturday run is done at a pace that is slower than most people can walk.  But my lungs are different now.  I CAN run.  I can skip rope for a minute without stopping to sob for breath.  Sure, I have spent 2/3 of the past three weeks sore and whimpering from twice weekly Nazi sessions… but I can already do more push-ups.   I can do actual push-ups.  Actual-ISH anyway.

I can be strong.  I will be strong.

9 responses to “Pacing Myself

  1. Push-ups? I am so impressed I am speachless! Push-ups? You are strong!

  2. It’s even more impressive when you calculate just HOW MUCH I am pushing up!

    Needless to say, I do chick push-ups.

  3. Good for you!! I am SO impressed with what you have done!
    Push up’s? You are super cool:)
    Jill

  4. I do pushups against the wall! I need a nazi trainer, just not my husband. I end up hating him when he’s my trainer. I’m so much nicer to other people who torture me.

  5. I’m so proud of you!!!! And, verra verra impressed. Push ups? I need to ramp up my activity!

  6. You are the bomb!! Seriously, you really do inspire me. Push-ups=rock star.

  7. Awesome! I love your posts – they’re inspiring!

    I have done pretty good with my eating the last few weeks, actually losing close to three pounds over the past two weeks, BUT have done no exercise. Like, none at all. I admire all that you’re doing. It helps motivate!

  8. Yay for you being all inspiring for us! Because…umm…yeah…you’re doing it for us, right? =P

  9. Good intentions got to count for something!

Leave a Reply

