A good book for all of us to read

french.jpg

If you haven’t read the book French Women Don’t Get Fat, I encourage you to do so. Or, re-read it if it has been a while.

The author discusses at length how eating good food, but doing so in reasonable portions, can result in a trim figure and a happy life. There’s virtually no mention of calories or worries about “bad carbs”. Instead, Guiliano tells about how, as a teen, she returned to her native France from a year studying in Massachusetts overweight and unhappy and how she ultimately slimmed down.

She did this by adapting the tenets of French eating:

  • eating three substantial meals a day
  • consuming smaller portions
  • eat lots of fruits and vegetables
  • taking the stairs instead of the elevator
  • drinking plenty of water
  • not depriving herself of treats every once in a while

In other words, Guiliano listened to common sense.French Women also contains recipes, including a Cauliflower Gratin that is just delish.

As we all face a month of parties, receptions, baking cookies, and large celebratory meals, we all want to be able to enjoy ourselves but also not gain weight. If you have time (ha!), I recommend this book.

4 responses to “A good book for all of us to read

  1. Looks like a good read. Common sense can go a long way. Listening to my own common sense is another thing entirely..LOL

  2. Oooo…I’d love to read a book that exemplifies my own approach to all this. Thanks!

  3. I have not read this book but it sounds good the way you describe it. For some reason, I thought it was a snooty-look-down-upon-the-fat-American and would offer helpful advice like, Eat three pieces of romaine twice a day. Then you can indulge in .093 ounces of dark chocolate and thimble of red wine.

    The times when I have been successful at weight loss (isn’t that an oxymoron if it’s in the past and is plural) I have still eaten pretty much what I wanted, for the most part, only in smaller quantities, STOPPING when I felt full. And adding more vegetables, salads, and fruits than usual. Hm. And the reason I’m not doing that now is??

  4. I spent a month in France right after high school. I was skinny then, but after a month of eating some of the yummiest things ever (the cheese, oh the cheese) I weighed the same but was noticably slimmer and firmer. (Is firmer a word?) Maybe I’ll put this book on my Christmas list right below pedometer.

Leave a Reply

