I want to be FAT again

I took my kids to the indoor pool this morning. I wore my one piece Miracle suit with a tank-top over it.

The kids are pool rats and we frequently organize play-dates with other mothers. Weight ALWAYS comes up. Why is it that after having a baby – weight always comes up in conversation? It’s uncomfortable! I want to enjoy watching my three year old Lola pretend she is Ariel and my five year old Jay cannon balling into the water. I’m not there half naked to discuss weight. “What is she doing to keep the weight off?” “What do you eat?” “Are you doing yoga?” “Did you hear, she had a tummy tuck?” Seriously, I can’t stand it.

I stepped away from the mothers and watched Lola. I am in love with my children. Head over heels in love. Lola is standing under a huge water spout in the zero depth water feature. Imagine a 10 foot water spout. She is standing directly under it holding her sweet floral swimsuit open at the top. The water slowly accumulates in her suit. The suit grows and grows until it finally can’t expand any more. She looks up at me with a huge satisfied smile, “Mama, look at me! Look how FAT this tummy is. LOOK!” The air in her suit makes it appear she is 8 months pregnant with twins. She is beaming. She is jumping up and down, “I am fat. Yippee!!! I am fat. Look at me MAMA, I am FAT!!!” She dives underwater and as she comes up for air her belly disappears (if it was only that simple). Her smile disappears too. “I want to be FAT again. I’m going to do it again.”

Ahhh, to be three years old.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

9 responses to “I want to be FAT again

  1. Too cute. I have no idea why weight always comes up in a group of women. It’s even more uncomforable when you are the biggest in the group but hey, that’s my own fault. One of these days I’m going to say “oh no, i don’t have a problem with weight, my fat and I get along just fine”

  2. For a while there, my daughters didn’t seem to realize that being chubby was a bad thing. I remember playing with my daughter, and she looked at my belly and said, “I wish I had a nice big belly like yours. Someday can I have a nice big belly like yours?” tee hee

  3. So, so cute! You know…if I lose too much weight, I’ll deny my daughters the use of my tummy as a pillow. Hmmm…

  4. LOL. Gotta love 3 year olds.

    I myself can sometimes be a bit overdramatic. Mostly to strangers. Because (A) it’s REALLY funny and (B) they generally need to learn some tact… aka how to keep their fat trap shut

    I have been known to tell people who, when I am fully pregnant, ask me when I’m “due” to burst into tears and say “I’m not pregnant. I’m just fat! Why does everyone keep asking me that?!?”

    Really. It’s golden.

  5. P.S. I should clarify that when pregnant, and bedridden, and for the love of Pete, I’m going to the pharmacy because if I have to stare at that blasted popcorn ceiling one more second, I’ll shoot someone!

    In that instance, the aforementioned is very, very amusing.

  6. Too cute!

    I don’t know what it is, either, about a group of women getting together that makes all of them, no matter how slim and healthy they may or may not be, talk about how awful they look, how they only ran 1 mile the day before, blah, blah, blah.

    It seems to be all about appearance. Or maybe it’s the competitive aspect. I don’t know but it gives me a headache. And makes me want to eat fried things.

  7. How cute!

    I don’t know what it is about my group of friends, but no one — and I mean no one — talks about weight or dieting. And I’m just fine with that.

  8. Great, lovely perspective for me on this day.

    Thank you.

  9. We must live in the same town! The ladies around where I live are seriously caught up in the way they look. There’s not many overweight people around and it’s always a topic of conversation! It gets old quic.!

Leave a Reply

