Hi I’m new

Hi,
My name is Jill, and I am new to Fight the Fluffy. I am so exicited to be a part of this group! It will be so much nicer to go through the whole weight loss thing with others.
A bit of background. I was kind of a fluffy kid, not super fluffy, just enough to be sensitive about it. As a teenager, I was a dancer and became very athletic, and very thin. My first drivers license said Height 5’8″ weight 114. I also ate a lot of fast food. I love fries. The problem was, when I got to be an adult and got a “real job” I was basically just sitting at a desk all day, and continued to love fries (and bacon cheeseburgers, and CHOCOLATE and cheesecake and chocolate cake, and pizza and chocolate pudding, and chocolate ice cream………..)
Fast forward 4 kids later. I always lost my weight after my first three pregnancies. I even lost about 50 lbs right before I got pregnant with #4, when I gained most of it back.
My big wake up call was a last year when my DH was diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes. Learning more about this disease was really scary, but the diabetes counselor we met with was wonderful, and very encouraging. We learned that pretty much everything we were eating was wrong. DH is allowed 75g of carbs per meal. A small order of fries is about 60 carbs, and a can of Soda pop is 45 or more. We now only drink diet soda (hey, I still need the caffiene) We got a book from http://www.calorieking.com which lists all the nutritional info of many foods, it also includes menus and nutritional information for quite a few restaurants. This was so helpful to us, and allowed us to eat out without being totally unhealthy.
I decided to be supportive, and followed the same diet as DH, and lost 12 lbs in 5 months, just from reducing the amount of carbohydrates I was eating. Then it was Christmas time, and for some reason, I felt compelled to make 10 lbs of fudge. I didn’t eat all of it, but apparently smelling it as it was cooking, caused me to gain weight.
Throughout the last year, I have gradually gained a bit here and there, and then, when I stopped nursing my baby, I gained 15 lbs. in about 2 weeks. I am now only about 7 lbs away from where I was at my heaviest. Right now, my fat pants are tight on me, and since I gave away my maternity clothes, I have nothing else to wear.
Oh, I almost forgot to mention the “E” word (exercise) I’ts amazing to see how much 30 min on the treadmill can do to reduce blood glucose levels. I plan on taping my favorite t.v. shows and then watch them while I’m walking. I wish I could set up my computer in front of the treadmill, then I could blog surf while exercising.
We are leaving soon to go to Thanksgiving dinner with my family. I will try reduce my portion sizes and have one small slice of pie (instead of 3).
Thanks for reading:)
Jill

9 responses to “Hi I’m new

  1. Welcome Jill!

    Nothing like a reality check to get us on track, eh? I’m doing the treadmill thing too. First time on it? I lasted ten minutes. Sad, eh? =)

    Good luck!

  2. Welcome Jill!! Glad to have you along for the ride. Diabetes runs in my family so it is always there in the back of my mind. I’m hoping to change my habits before I am forced to.

    Good luck!!

  3. I was diagnosed with Gestational Diabetes and that was no fun at all. I still have pre-diabetes, so I know I need to do something BEFORE I become a full-fledged diabetic. I also gain weight from smelling it! LOL!

  4. Yay Jill!

    Bleah, I’m feeling you on the weaning waistline explosion! Has happened with all three of my babies.

  5. Welcome Jill! Oh, I SO WISH I could blog and exercise at the same time. That would be awesome. Quick, someone invent a treadmill with an internet connection and keyboard! :>

  6. Somebody should SO invent a treadmill like that. We’d all use it!

    Welcome and nice to meet you!

  7. I’m with you, I do so hate the way I can gain weight just from smelling chocolate.

    I’m so happy that good nutrition is going to be a family thing, as it will be so good for all of you.

  8. Great idea to post right before dinner…did it help keep you on track?

  9. Hi Jill! Combine exercise and blogging? Diabolical! If something I hate and something I love combined into one, my world might actually implode!

Leave a Reply

