Guess What?

You’re not going to believe this, but I just worked out!

I was at the computer earlier and I keep thinking that I should work out. (Don’t you hate that word: “should”)

I have a DVD that has workouts in ten minute increments. Theoretically, one could do the entire 40 minute workout, although not this one. I kept thinking TEN MINUTES. I could do one of the ten minute workouts.  And how good would I feel for the rest of the day?

I argued with myself and tried to come up with reasons not to but besides, “I don’t feel like it,” I had nothing. The company that will be here the next two or three days aren’t here yet, dear son is still in the bed. 

So I did it. Ten minutes. With the warmup and cool down it’s actually closer to twenty minutes.

What really did it for me was knowing how motivated I’d be to stay on track the entire rest of the temptation-laden day if I spent just ten tiny minutes this morning. I did. Yea!

Last night we ate dinner with my parents and had vegetable soup and cornbread. I ate one serving of the soup and one piece of butter-slathered cornbread, although I could have had three, and a mere sliver (seriously) of sweet potato pie. That was hard! Mom had one of my favorites, this pumpkin praline torte that’s layered with whipped cream, that we’re going to have today. And my brother’s bringing honey baked ham and –! Yeah, THIS is why I’m glad I did a little activity this morning to help me later today!

Anyway, if anyone is interested, the DVD is Express Workout: Dance It Off from Prevention Magazine.  It got mixed reviews but I enjoy it.

Along those same lines, I’d be interested in the workout DVDs you use, if any, if you like/don’t like them and why.

For instance, I have Denise Austin’s Fat-Burning Dance Mix that I cannot stomach. I don’t know why. I’d be thrilled to trade it with someone.

5 responses to “Guess What?

  1. Way to go Keetha!! You showed great control last night. I don’t use any workout DVD’s but that may be what I need to do now that I don’t have a gym nearby and 36 hours in a day.

  2. Yay you! That’s fabulous!

    My favourite is the Walk Away the Pounds series. The two mile walk is my favourite. =)

  3. I’m gonna check it out. Ten minutes sounds great. Thanks for the tip.

  4. Yay Keetha! I wish I had had time to go for a walk before we left town yesterday…

  5. Nice job, it always helps me to work out early in the day. Then I don’t want to mess up my hard work!

Leave a Reply

