Thanksgiving Coping Strategies

Posted by WW-Paul:

So, it might be sadist to start a weight loss blog the week of Thanksgiving. Don’t worry! We’re going to provide some coping strategies to help you through this, er, fluff-supporting holiday.

I heard in my WW meeting that the average person gains fifteen pounds between Halloween and New Years. I refuse to be one of those people.

Let’s start with Thanksgiving. What is your plan? Consider this poem(?) I got from my WW leader this week (slightly modified):

Take time to plan
Have low calorie meals before Turkey Day dinner
Attitude is everything
Not a 4-day eating holiday; don’t binge!
Keep track of what you are eating
Seconds will add to your daily calorie total. Plan and prepare!
Get in some extra walking and exercise
Indulge in the foods which you can’t have any other time
Visualize practicing self-control and portion-control
It is possible if you want it bad enough
No matter what you eat, don’t give up and call the month a loss
Give thanks that you have a dinner on your table and family to share it with.

You can do it! We can all do it together!

7 responses to “Thanksgiving Coping Strategies

  1. Oooo, I love that poem. I’m going to print it out and put it on the bulletin board. Thanks for sharing!

  2. This is great! I’ve been thinking about my plan for Thanksgiving and am going to look at the relative point values for the various foods I’ll be encountering. Having that information will help me decide which splurges are worth it.

  3. Great poem… another fun quip is;

    “It’s called a holi-DAY, not a holi-WEEK”

    I am excited to enjoy my Thanksgiving without regrets, guilt or tummyaches.

  4. Love the poem Paul. I need to print this out and carry it with me this weekend. My extra working out is going to be in the form of shopping. That can be heavy duty cardio on the day after Thanksgiving.

  5. At WW on Saturday, our leader had us write down the food we would normally eat at Thanksgiving dinner, including the amount.

    I found that even trying to make some good choices (no stuffing, for example), my dinner with dessert still weighed in at around 40 points. (I get 36 points per day.)

    We took an 8-in paper plate and folded it in half 3 times (try this; it is good to know). That is a serving of pie (pumpkin is usually about 9 pts). Fold it in half again, and that is a serving of cheesecake (usually about 10 points).

    (I know, I think in points; sorry for all you non-WW folks. You can generally think of a point being worth about 50 calories, though this varies depending on the fat/fiber content of the item. The 50 calorie rule, however, is a good starting point for guessing.)

  6. I’m excited for Thanksgiving! I plan on eating lots of veggies, which are my preference anyways, and only a little cranberry sauce. (which is my favorite, but 1/4 c has 4 points! EEK!) If I can control the cranberry craving, I’ll be fine. 😉

  7. Great ideas. Here’s my thing – it’s ONE day. Unless you eat 3500 calories worth of food that day and don’t move a muscle, you aren’t going to gain, other than taking on water from all the salt. For me, I have to give myself permission to have a nice Thanksgiving. Not binge, not go crazy, but have a nice dinner. And then get up the next day and start again, without any self recrimination or guilt. That’s what “normal” people do, right? They eat normally, and then once in a while they indulge?

    I really want to try to not only lose weight, but also somehow learn how to think about food like a reasonably fit person does. Food is energy, it’s fuel, and sometimes it’s an indulgence. SOMETIMES.

Leave a Reply

