Stop the madness

Hi, my name is Tonya and I am addicted to food.  *Hi Tonya*

I am an emotional eater.  The only problem is that it doesn’t matter what emotion.  Mad, glad, happy, sad.  Any of them will do.  I LOVE FOOD.  It is my comfort.  It is my drug.  I am sooooo over it and yet, I can’t leave it alone.  Thus, I am here.  I am hopeful that by bearing my soul here about my addiction, perhaps I can start to overcome it. 

 I have been a “gosh, she’s got a pretty face” girl my whole life.  Even when I was normal sized (now that I look at the pictures) in high school, I was the biggest of my friends.  It’s only gotten worse as time has gone by.  I don’t think I’m ready to put the number out there just yet but let’s just say that I have a long long way to go.  Every journey begins with the first step right?

I can’t remember the last time I shopped in the “normal” sized part of the store.  Now, don’t get me wrong.  I don’t need to be skinny but I am no longer comfortable in my own skin.  I need to be less and I don’t know what the number will be until I get there. 

 Thank you to everyone who started this blog and have allowed me to participate.  It’s the first time that I’ve contributed to a blog outside of my own and I do hope that I’ll do it justice. 

7 responses to “Stop the madness

  1. Hi Tonya! Glad you’re here with us! We’re here for you every step of the way.

  2. Tonya, I’m an emotional eater, too, girl, so I know what you mean. It is hard to break that cycle, but we will do it!

  3. “I am an emotional eater. The only problem is that it doesn’t matter what emotion. Mad, glad, happy, sad. Any of them will do.” Ha ha ha ha – me too. I love food. Thanks for sharing your journey with us.

  4. It is my comfort. It is my drug. I am sooooo over it and yet, I can’t leave it alone.

    I totally believe that for some of us eating is an addiction as real as an addiction to drugs, cigarettes, or any other habit-forming thing. Overcoming the addiction to eating can be even harder than overcoming an addiction to other substances in some ways: if you stop smoking, you can stop associating with people who smoke, and you can leave the room when somebody starts. With eating, however, you have to indulge in your weakness at least three times a day in order to continue living. You have to learn to control your addiction and not let it get out of hand. It’s tough.

    But together we can be a support group to help each other overcome the addiction and live healthy lives! You can do it!

  5. I realized last year that I’m an emotional eater too! I was shocked when my huband said that and I knew it was true. He said, “You don’t think you can have a good time unless there’s food involved.” I am totally guilty. I love to cook, bake, go out to eat, eat with friends, you name it…now how do we have fun without eating everything in site? Hopefully we’ll learn that from each other, right?

  6. YAy! When I post, I’ll put my numbers out there… you won’t feel funny about coming clean THEN!

  7. You’re so smart to realize that it’s not about a number…it’s about how you feel about yourself. Good for you!

Leave a Reply

