Battle of the Bulge

Posted by Nicki, who blogs here: http://iwright.wordpress.com/

Let’s see, when did my battle of the bulge begin?  Oh, right.  It was after giving birth to three kids in four years.  Pesky kids; if only I knew then what I know now…

In high school I was consistently a size eight to ten, and at 5’7” I was happy with my figure.  At lunch (I didn’t eat breakfast) I ate pretty much what I wanted to, which was whatever scrumptious delight in a bag the student store offered. 

My junior year my mom started buying me lunch tickets, which was like, so unfair.  I hated it, but I started eating the salad bar for lunch because it was the only thing that didn’t make me want to hurl.   If it wasn’t for the mound of grated cheese and salad dressing over my veggies, I would have been eating way healthier.

Anyway, although I wasn’t heavy I always felt bigger because of my chest.  It was enormous.  I tried to hide the girls the best I could, but it was hard to do.  I always played it off like I didn’t care when people noticed.  Like in P.E.  The boys used to skip class to watch me run the mile.  It was humiliating.  I hated my chest; they were embarrassing and I thought they made me look fat, not to mention I started to have back problems.  So when I was 23 I had ‘em wacked.  It was one of the best decisions I ever made.  Unfortunately, since having kids and getting heavier, they came back! 

After getting pregnant with my first baby I gained 55 lbs.  Post-partum I weighed 200 lbs.  A year went by and the self loathing was doing a number on me so I got a treadmill and started Slimfast (I do not recommend that method), and I lost 65 lbs.  It took almost a year but I got to a small size 10 and was feeling awesome about myself! 

Then I got pregnant again.  I only gained 35 lbs. with that pregnancy, and had lost 19 of that by the time my second son was six months old.  I then got pregnant with my third son.  I think my body sort of gave up and said, “Listen lady, this is not a hotel.  We are not supposed to be housing every Joe Shmoe that thinks he needs to be here, and until you realize this I’m going to take a hiatus from being anywhere near cute.  You brought this on yourself, you know.  By the way, I’m throwing in some stretch marks for all the fried stuff. ”

And that’s where I’m at now.  I have three gorgeous boys to show for my fluffiness, and while I’ve lost 41 lbs. since having boy #3, I’m nowhere near done!  I’d love to lose another 44 lbs. and wear a size 6 for the first time in my life!  I may only stay there for a couple of days, but still!  It’s my goal, and I want to meet it.  Thirty, flirty and thriving…thirty, flirty and thriving… say it with me.   So what if you’re not thirty,  I’m not either.

My goals: 

·         Maintain my current weight until after Christmas

·         Lose 44 lbs., bringing me to 140 lbs.

·         Participate in a mini triathlon next summer

·         Be hotter at 32 than I was at 20

·         Get pregnant in a year, have a girl and not get fat (one can dream, right?) 

10 responses to “Battle of the Bulge

  1. Loved this post. I too would love a reduction. I’m so jealous. Those are good goals. I think for many of us, maintaining through the holidays is a great goal. I’ve lost weight in unhealthy ways before too. I’d love to do a half-tri, but I just hate the running (see above – would love a reduction). I’m glad you are here!

  2. After all my weight loss is done and I’ve maintained things succesfully, I know I’m going to want a reduction. You were so brave to do that!

    And, if you’re the mother of three little ones, I know you’re strong enough to meet your goals!

  3. Agreed. The holidays are a difficult time to maintain — even a harder time to lose.

    How do you do with with three kids that young?! My wife and I are expecting our second baby, when our first turns 15 months. I’m afraid we’re going to go stark raving mad! 🙂

  4. I think it’s so cool that you have these goals – concrete and attainable. I’m glad you shared that. I should do the same – write them down and post them, maybe on the fridge.

    You make a good point that maybe at this point, simply not gaining weight over the next six weeks, is a victory. The loss part can start in earnest after the holidays.

  5. Sue and Jen – The reduction wasn’t nearly as bad as I thought it would be. I couldn’t nurse well, though. That was really hard for me the first time around. Exercise is amazing afterward. And the girls are at attention for the first time in years!

    Paul – Hang in there, cowboy. It’s a tough ride, but after the first year things will get easier. My second two are 16 mo. apart and things are much better now that baby turned one. Good luck!

    Keetha – You should definitely tell us your goals! Then we’ll help you stick to them. And there’s no way I’m going to try and lose over the holidays! I’m just not going to gain 10 – hopefully! I’m going to work out as often as possible!

  6. Nicki, you are funny and adorable, and I wish we could be friends in real life.

  7. LOVE your goals, but I am totally envious of your reduction surgery! Promising myself some snipsnip when I lose all my all-me!

  8. I’ve always heard that you should begin with the end in mind and you are doing great with that. You have set some great goals and I look foward to going through this together.

  9. I don’t think I’ll ever need a reduction of any sort. However, when all is said and done, a body lift might be nice. . . and the “down under” surgery. I really want that one…

  10. Great post – our goals are very similar. I’m all about looking hotter than I did at 20. Because at 20? I was so frickin’ clueless!

Leave a Reply

