Not helpful

Posted by Jen:

I love New Zealand. Such a lovely country, which I’ve had the privilege of visiting only once so far. However, this story, makes me wonder what in the heck is going on down there.

Go ahead, take a moment to read it. I’ll wait here for you.

[waiting patiently, humming a little…]

Are you as outraged as I am? First of all, what right does any governing body have over an individual’s body? Secondly, that poor woman does not need this kind of stress. Moving halfway across the world is hard enough. Being separated from from her husband just ups the ante.

Overall, I’m just really disappointed in New Zealand right now. If they really must enforce this ridiculous edict, why not allow her entry and then give her a reasonable amount of time to shed the weight in a healthy manner?

[Oh, and I do think her wedding dress is quite lovely, don’t you?]

britbride.jpg

5 responses to “Not helpful

  1. Wow. That is harsh. That poor woman. Bad enough to be denied entry to a country, but to be a news story for her weight?? How awful.

    I think we all applaud healthy living but this does seem a bit extreme.

  2. Wow, that’s hard core. I’m glad I don’t live in New Zealand. Not that they’d let me in in the first place. It’s a tough issue, because health problems related to obesity ARE going to become such a huge problem. Does NZ offer free health care to all citizens? Is that part of the issue?

  3. Ouch. Talk about mercenary!

  4. Um, yeah. This is why I have only ever traveled within the U.S.

  5. Oh man, that is ridiculous. Can they really do that? Sheesh!!

    Good thing I don’t want to live there because I would be seriously banned.

    Poor woman.

Leave a Reply

